Employee Benefits Compliance, State-Specific Information

2014 State Disability Insurance Matrix

Five states and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico require employee (and in some cases also employer) contributions for State Disability Insurance (SDI, also called Temporary Disability Insurance or TDI).  SDI benefits are paid to eligible workers who are unable to work because of a non-work related injury or illness, or due to pregnancy-related disability.  (Work-related injuries and illnesses are covered by Workers’ Compensation.)

The five states are   California, Hawaii, New Jersey, New York and Rhode Island.

The attached matrix provides summary information on the following terms and conditions of these programs in 2014:  State Plan name, website and contact information; Employee and employer contributions; Weekly Benefit amounts, When benefits begin, and Maximum benefit period.

2014 Statutory Disability 7-9-14